UK Martial Artist made honorary Ranger: No, this isn’t a stunt to promote the 2012 London Olympics…. :P

This is Aaron Cook, a 20-year old Tae Kwon Do champion who will be representing the UK in the upcoming 2012 London Olympics, and one of the strongest hopefuls they have to bring home the gold in that category. And in a bid to bring attention to his profile ahead of the 2012 Games, he has become the first honorary member of the Power Rangers.

On Friday, he exhibited himself at London’s Westfield Shopping Centre, as a real-life action figure. Hoping to bring attention to the launch of PRS in the UK, he mentioned how much of a Power Rangers fan he is.

“I’m hoping that by joining the Power Rangers I’ll help to inspire British children to follow in my footsteps, which will hopefully include a medal at the London 2012 Olympics”, said Cook. “I was mad about Power Rangers as a kid so my parents took me to a local Taekwondo club in Dorchester where I fell in love with the sport. The rest, as they say, is history.”

I’ll admit, when I first read this story, I thought it was purely promotional. But seeing that he is a fan, and that he was more interested in getting kids inspired to follow martial arts, I gotta say, this is pretty cool. Whoe would want to be an honorary Power Ranger, or be a life-size action figure. Hard to belive that he actually went through with it, standing in a plastic box all day, but hey, more power to him. I can definitely see why Saban would agree to do this.

Sources:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/olympics/article-2009869/London-2012-Olympics-Aaron-Cook-Power-Ranger.html

http://www.metro.co.uk/sport/oddballs/867992-london-2012-martial-arts-hopeful-transformed-into-power-ranger

Third link that’s too long for the post.

-M.C., the Quantum Twin

Author: henshinhead

I'm a blogger, writer, artiste, gamer, madman, and super-powered being from another dimension. My day involves blogging about geek stuff, building my own little worlds, and saving this world from evil organizations and giant monsters. What's your day like? ;P

1 thought on “UK Martial Artist made honorary Ranger: No, this isn’t a stunt to promote the 2012 London Olympics…. :P”

Leave a Reply

