Yeah, no way I could get around NOT posting this: Kamen Rider Vs. Super Sentai Movie Announced! (Last Week…)

Last Sunday, December 4th, we, the members of tokusatsu fandom, recieved what is perhaps some of the greatest news we have yet to recieve. The ultimate fan fantasy crossover movie was announced, between the Kamen Rider and Super Sentai franchises. Tenatively called “Superhero Taisen”, this movie will feature as it’s leads Kamen Rider Decade and Kaizoku Sentai Go-Kaiger.

And along with those two, the movie will also feature all 40 Kamen Riders (up to and through Fourze), and over 200 Sentai Senshi (up to and through Gobuster).

Confirmed cast includes Inoue Masahiro (Kadoya Tsukasa/Decade), Ozawa Ryota (Captain Marvelous/Go-KaiRed), Akiyama Rina (Naomi from Den-O), Ishimaru Kenjiro (Owner/Stationmaster from Den-O), and Momotaros. and the director confirmed for this epic EPIC movie is Kaneda Osamu. Filming begins later this month (December 2011).

Producer Shirakura says, “In the year after the anniversary we’re not going to power down but cross it…. We want to show things you can’t see in the regular shows. This was pretty close to impossible but I’d like to make it the norm for our spring films. Rider is science, sentai is magic.”

Well, I always thought it was sorta the other way around, but really they’re both in this weird pseudo-scientific fantasy area at this point. But the real point I’d like to get at is this:
This is without a doubt the greatest movie announcement EVER, and I can’t wait to see it. Period. I may invent time travel solely to see this movie.

And I’m not the only one who has anything to say about it either, because Inoue Masahiro also talked about this on his blog shortly after the announcement. Here’s what he had to say:

So, recently I was going through my old photos and thinking, “It sure was fun when I was working on Kamen Rider….”  And now, all of a sudden, I get to do it again!   This one is even bigger than last time–it looks like a lot of fun!

The kids don’t talk about Decade much anymore so I was starting to get kind of lonely, lol.  He’s still passing through!

I’m going to have fun but still give it my all.  If only one person sees it or a lot of people see it, I’ll be happy either way!

I can’t write much yet so I’ll stop for now, lol.  It would be great if I could get to do some action again!

The movie is expected to come out March 2012. I may fly to Japan to see it.

-M.C., the Quantum Twin

Author: henshinhead

I'm a blogger, writer, artiste, gamer, madman, and super-powered being from another dimension. My day involves blogging about geek stuff, building my own little worlds, and saving this world from evil organizations and giant monsters. What's your day like? ;P

Leave a Reply

